Tuition And Fees

2016 - 2017 CALENDAR YEAR TUITION AND FEE CHARGES*

 

Year 1 Tuition - $22,000

 

There is a non-refundable tuition deposit of $500 to be made upon enrollment in the program.

 

Year 1 Fees:

 

Orientation – $75

Required Physical and Drug Test – $135 (If organized through NMI)

TWIC Card – $128 (USCG License Students Only)

Fire-Fighting Lab Fee – $150

Pool Use for STCW Training – $40

STCW Equipment Fee – $30

Seamanship Lab – $30

U.S. Coast Guard Credential (Ordinary Seaman) Fee – $145 (USCG License Students Only)

Dominica Seafarer ID Book – $75 (Dominica License Students Only)

 

Books, course materials, and summer at sea travel costs are the responsibility of the student.

 

Year 1 Approximate Fees: $728 (US) $585.00 (DOMINICA)

 

Books, course materials, and summer at sea travel costs are the responsibility of the student.

 

 

Year 2 Tuition -$22,000

 

Year 2 Fees:

 

Licensing Physical and Drug Test – $135 (If organized through NMI)

U.S. Coast Guard Credential (License) Fee – $145 (USCG License Students Only)

Dominica Seafarer ID Book – $75 (Dominica License Students Only)

Dominica License Fee – $350 (Dominica License Students Only)

 

Year 2 Approximate Fees: $280.00 (US) $560.00 (DOMINICA)

 

Books, course materials, and summer at sea travel costs are the responsibility of the student.

 

*Tuition and fees are subject to change on an annual basis by a majority vote of the Board of Trustees.

 

 

OPTIONAL FOR PURCHASE

 

Student Health Insurance – All students are required to have Health Insurance under Massachusetts Law while attending Northeast Maritime Institute’s College of Maritime Science.

 

All students have the option of purchasing their Health Insurance through the College.

 

Rates are to be determined. Please contact the Registrar’s office for more information.

 

 

PAYMENT OPTIONS

 

Northeast Maritime Institute has a no-interest payment program option directly through Bursar’s Office.

 

 

REFUND POLICIES

 

Students who withdraw from a course after the start of the semester are entitled to a refund of tuition in accordance with the following:

 

Prior to the 1st week …………………………………………………………………………………………...  100%, less a deposit fee of $500

During the 1st week ……………………………………………………………………………………………..   75%

During the 2nd week …………………………………………………………………………………………….   50%

During the 3rd week ……………………………………………………………………………………………..   25%

After the 3rd week …………………………………………………………………………………………….....    0%

 

Certain fees may be refunded on a pro-rated basis, if applicable. Application fees, acceptance deposits, and registration fees are non-refundable. All students wishing to withdraw must file an official Withdrawal Notice (available in Registrar’s Office) in writing to the Registrar’s Office. This notice must be signed by the student’s academic advisor. Tuition credit will be calculated from the time the notice is received in the Registrar’s Office. Non-attendance of class does not constitute an official withdrawal.

 

 

FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION

 

 

 

 

NMI Footer Logo

Northeast Maritime Institute

32 Washington Street

Fairhaven, MA 02719 USA

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo Instagram Logo YouTube Logo

MASSACHUSETTS DISCLOSURE INFORMATION

 

1. NORTHEAST MARITIME INSTITUTE HAS NO EXISTING AGREEMENT WITH EMPLOYERS TO PROVIDE JOBS TO STUDENTS AND DOES NOT GUARANTEE EMPLOYMENT.

 

2. MANY OF THE JOB LISTINGS PROVIDED BY NORTHEAST MARITIME INSTITUTE ARE COMPILED FROM PUBLIC SOURCES. THE SCHOOL MAY ALSO RECEIVE DIRECT REQUESTS FROM EMPLOYERS OR REFERRALS FOR JOB LISTINGS FROM GRADUATES WORKING IN THE FIELD, INSTRUCTORS, STAFF MEMBERS, EXTERN PROVIDERS, ETC.

 

3.NORTHEAST MARITIME INSTITUTE IS AN OPEN ADMISSIONS SCHOOL AND ADMITS ALL STUDENTS WHO MEET THE ADMISSION CRITERIA AS SET FORTH IN THE CATALOG.

 

4. THE CERTIFICATE OR DEGREE YOU OBTAIN FROM NORTHEAST MARITIME INSTITUTE UPON GRADUATION IS NOT THE SAME AS LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT, WHICH MAY BE REQUIRED FOR SOME

 

OCCUPATIONS, EMPLOYERS, OR STATES. THE COST OF ANY LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION OR THE COST OF ANY EXAMINATION FOR LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE TUITION COST OF THE PROGRAM AND IS ONLY INCLUDED IN THE TOTAL PROGRAM COST IF IT IS SPECIFICALLY ITEMIZED ON YOUR ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT.